Discovery of Identity

Matthew 25:37 (New International Version)

"Then the righteous will answer him, 'Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you something to drink?"

The other day I ran out of gas on the highway. I am such a dude. Come on, you guys all know what I am talking about… when you just know that you can make it to the next exit even though the needle is well below the "E" mark. Yeah, didn't happen. Poor Lindsay. This is the second time she has had to endure my optimism towards the ol' tank.

So, this guy stops and picks us up and drops us off at a gas station. He then insists that we fill up a can and bring it back in his van so that he can take us all the way back to our car. We have a very normal and down to earth conversation with this guy and all in all he spent about twenty some minutes helping us out. It was really nice of him to do this for perfect strangers.

During one point in the conversation he said "fuck" in a very normal dialect and it got me thinking about how a few years ago I would have been concerned for this guys soul in the midst of his kindness towards us. I have been thinking recently a lot about how much it is possible that people who know Jesus very probably don't necessarily know that they do.

Conversely, I think it is scarily possible that those who are confident that the know Jesus very possibly do not at all. One group said when didn't we see you hungry and one group asks when did we? I am beginning to ask myself the question a lot lately… when have I seen Jesus and feed him, clothed him, quenched his thirst? Do I even know any of the "least of these"?

I fear the honest answer to this question, but I hope that it will not stop me from asking it not only mentally or verbally, but with action. I hope that I will find the deep satisfying joy of doing so and avoid the dark, lonely, self-absorbed consequences of not.

One thought on “Discovery of Identity

Leave a Reply

