Cold, but Alive

So, driving home last night in the bitter cold with a bitter attitude about the bitter cold and then the thought hits me:

I am alive. I am breathing. There is life all around me covered in snow and frozen, but still living. We live on a planet that can sustain life within ranges of tolerance despite how vast that range may seem relative to our own experience.

Suddenly, the delicacy of life and a sense of wonder blew through my mind and helped me to hear my heart beat and feel my lungs expand and contract.

So, I will scrape my windows and shovel my walk and I will contemplate the beauty and let it distract from the grumblings of discomfort because I am alive.

One thought on “Cold, but Alive

Leave a Reply

